The Unknowns set to release 'Forever Slaving Always Craving'


Fresh from their East Coast Tour for the single ‘Doin’ the Grind’ (released with a music video on 1st August), Rock’n’Roll/Garage Rock 3-piece The Unknowns are bringing more of their unfeigned self-expression in their upcoming EP ‘Forever Slaving Always Craving’ – due 19October 2018.

The Unknowns (Josh Hardy – Vocals/Guitar, Nathan Montgomery – Bass, Caleb Hardy – Drums) are driven by their passion for timeless music expressing honest emotions, sharing their truth through their songs.

Having previously independently released a self-titled EP and a release titled ‘The Blank Tapes’ in May 2016, a Demo EP ‘Thoughts’ in July 2016, and their official debut album ‘Trapped Down In Hell’ in December 2017, The Unknowns are releasing ‘Forever Slaving Always Craving’ as their second official EP.

With a clever blend of driving beats, raw rock’n’roll riffs that grab hold of you, a fresh punk attitude, and rockabilly and blues influences, ‘Forever Slaving Always Craving’ offers four tracks of candid thoughts, with songs skilfully crafted through the band’s musical prowess. The EP embodies The Unknowns’ heartfelt sentiments, presenting underlying thematic layers of struggle and misunderstanding, and a down-to-earth “just do it” approach to persevering.

The single track ‘Doin’ the Grind’ is a fitting opening track for the EP, conveying the daily grind of forever slaving away to earn a living, always craving for something more. The music video (filmed by Will Johnstone) was the second official music video released by the band, and light-heartedly captures the sentiment of a young band working through the average struggles of day-to-day life.

With its lyrical simplicity, Track 2 ‘Choke’ is a catchy tune of submission with an enticing rhythm and groove – an upbeat number contrasting the more melancholy blues arrangement of the third track ‘From Where I Stand’; an expression of being young and misunderstood: “You can feel nothing at all, but I cannot make you see from where I stand”. The closing track ‘I Wonder Why’exemplifies the artfully dynamic way in which The Unknowns are able to adeptly orchestrate notes, rhythms and gritty vocals in a song empathising with a returned Vietnam veteran feeling misapprehended and resented: “His heart’s still on that bloody track”, “I wonder why, I sit and I cry”.

'Forever Slaving Always Craving' was recorded by Jack McKenzie (Baskervillain, Canondrome, Pink Matter) and mastered by Brock Weston (Bugs, Young Lions, Big Whoops, The Dollar Bill Murrays) at Brisbane’s Bedlam Studios. No effects pedals were used in recording this EP, adding to the raw rock sound of the tracks that resembles the boisterous energy of an Unknowns live performance.

Since forming at school in 2015, The Unknowns have brought their old-fashioned authentic rock to numerous venues around the Sunshine Coast region, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Byron Bay and Sydney, including Solbar, The V Room, Nook and Cranny (Nambour), The Zoo, The Brightside, Currumbin Pub, Byron Bay Brewery and Frankie’s Pizza by the Slice.

As well as enlivening the stage at headline shows, The Unknowns have also supported esteemed acts including Ed Kuepper (The Saints) for the 40th Anniversary of ‘(I’m) Stranded’, The Chats, The Cherry Dolls and Port Royal, with shows supporting Clowns and VOIID in September 2018.

The Unknowns will be bringing their vigorous performance, animated stage presence and captivating crowd interaction to their ‘Forever Slaving Always Craving’ EP Launch at Café Le Monde, Noosa on Friday 19 October, with a Brisbane Launch at Lefty’s Old Time Music Hallon Saturday 20 October 2018.